SM logo
Kappa Slap

DJ Die Soon

Kappa Slap


Jan 1, 2020 - Italy

Debut Album by Berlin-based Japanese artist DJ Die Soon.


A1 - Kappa Slap
A2 - Untitled
A3 - Collude
A4 - Rantworth
A5 - Jibfred
B1 - Kawo Kada
B2 - Monopolize
B3 - Minions
B4 - Spiralfrau
B5 - Qaiju

About this record:

"DJ Die Soon is a local legend and ongoing inspiration in the Berlin underground electronic music scene. Remaining largely unknown outside the city, with only a handful of releases and appearances to date, the man behind the mask delivers truly freakish beats built from chaos driven crushed drums and eerie horror style basslines. KAPPA SLAP wrenches the Morphine catalog by the neck, takes it off it’s feet and slams it back unsteadily in front of the fans who loved the Container, Metasplice and Hieroglyphic Being output of the label. DJ Die Soon delivers extreme work here. The album is a mixture of instrumental pieces and vocal tracks featuring the talents of five contrasting MC's. Three Ugandan lyricists feature: there’s MC Yallah, with whom he worked during a residency for the Nyege Nyege Festival , Lord Spikeheart from the Duma hardcore pressure band, and the mighty ECKO BAZZ. Long time friend and collaborator Infinite Livez (Ninja Tunes) appears on the cosmic & eccentric Ranthworth, and finally there’s Japan’s MA, who recently dropped the incredible AMA album on the label. Incidentally, the pair (both Japanese) decided to collaborate after acclaimed performance at the Morphine Showcase Berlin’s Berghain in 2019. KAPPA SLAP contains a lot of our favorite sounds all in one album. Stunningly, DJ Die Soon manages to paint the Morphine picture in one hard stroke." Artwork courtesy of Lorenzo Mason Studio

Other items you may like:

This website uses cookies to offer you the best online experience. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the use of cookies.